'We aim to provide excellence in educational opportunities to meet the needs of our students'.

Telephone02 9622 9944

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the high school years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 8 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science
  • technological and applied studies (TAS).

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about the curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. High school covers Stages 4 to 6.

  • Stage 4 includes Years 7 and 8.
  • Stage 5 includes Years 9 and 10.
  • Stage 6 includes Years 11 and 12.

MHS Subject Selection Handbooks

MHS Subject Selection Handbooks are designed to help students be more informed about subjects in order for them to make their choices as they head into either Year 11 or Year 9.

After student have made their selections, each student will be interviewed and advised in Term 3 about their choices. These decisions are very important and may affect their future success at school and beyond.

Download: MHS Senior Subject Selection Handbook 2018 (pdf 1756 KB)

Download: MHS Senior Subject Selection Form 2018 (pdf 399 KB)

Download: MHS Junior Subject Selection Handbook 2018 (pdf 739 KB)

Download: MHS Subject and Fee Schedule 2018 (pdf 250 KB)